International Accreditation


Most clinical laboratories are required by regulatory bodies to participate in a globally accredited external quality assessment scheme.

RIQAS (Randox International Quality Assessment Scheme) is a UKAS accredited Proficiency Testing Provider. Our comprehensive programme range is accredited to ISO/IEC 17043:2010, 'Conformity Assessment- General Requirements for Proficiency Testing'. As such, all clinical laboratories that seek accreditation to ISO 15189 can now be certain that RIQAS will meet their EQA requirements. Our compliance with this new standard enables both participants and laboratory accreditation bodies to have added confidence in the following areas:

United Kingdom Accreditation Service
  • Design, implementation and operation
  • Sample quality, manufacture, storage and transport
  • Statistical practices used to determine performance
  • Confidentiality and scheme ethics

In addition to ISO/IEC 17043:2010 RIQAS systems and procedures are accredited to the following internationally recognised standards:

  • ISO 13485:2003 for the design and manufacture of medical devices
  • Approved by the UK National Quality Assurance Advisory Panel (NQAAP) for Clinical Pathology
  • Approved by the Joint Working Group on Quality Assurance (JWGQA)

International accreditation is proof of our competence as an EQA provider and emphasises the quality and proficiency of the services we provide.